Frontloader Washing Machine

Product

Panasonic ALPHA Washing Machine Frontloader
Panasonic ALPHA Washing Machine Frontloader Open
Panasonic ALPHA Washing Machine Frontloader Display
Panasonic ALPHA Washing Machine Frontloader Detergent Dispenser

The Japanese electronics giant wanted to create a washing machine with a European design for the Chinese market. As a long-time partner in collaboration with Panasonic, Studio F. A. Porsche was the ideal point of contact for this project. Not only for a purist, premium design, but also for considerably improved functionality.

First, in a market analysis we closely examined user behaviour in China. Ventilation turned out to be a major challenge for the design, which was also meant to suit living spaces. We are familiar with this problem here in Germany, too. In order to prevent the build-up of mould, the loading door of the washing machine needs to stay open when it’s not in use. That is not a pleasant sight, not even in Central Europe, where air humidity is much lower than it is between the Pacific and Yangtze.

It was also important to us to keep the design as purist as possible. Not only for aesthetic reasons – it is also advisable to keep the numbers of switches, buttons and gaps to a minimum to ensure simple maintenance and cleaning of the machine. The conclusion of our analysis: this otherwise sophisticated product can still be optimized in a few respects.

First we considered the loading opening. After the washing cycle, this pops out two centimetres and thus signals that the washing/drying has ended. Thanks to the opening this creates, the ventilation process can already begin – without the annoying open door effect. In order to limit the number of controls, we have integrated a TFT display, along with a rotary knob and on/off button. The display as well as the filling and cleaning flaps are incredibly level with the front and follow the curves of the machine, creating a particularly reduced look. The exclusive, extrusion-like appearance is rounded out with brushed stainless steel, as well as an elegant plastic cover created using injection moulding. For the timeless design, Panasonic replaced nearly all parts and completely revamped its normal approach to production. That is exactly why this project motivated and inspired us: because we could completely rethink design with the customer, also from a functional aspect.

Name

ALPHA Serie

Facts

Client:
Year:
2018

Social Media

Share on

Contact

Get in touch

Waschmaschine

Produkt

Panasonic ALPHA Washing Machine Frontloader
Panasonic ALPHA Washing Machine Frontloader Open
Panasonic ALPHA Washing Machine Frontloader Display
Panasonic ALPHA Washing Machine Frontloader Detergent Dispenser

Der japanische Elektronikriese Panasonic wollte für den chinesischen Markt eine Waschmaschine im europäischen Design konzipieren. Das Studio F. A. Porsche als langjähriger Partner des Unternehmens, war hier natürlich der ideale Ansprechpartner. Nicht nur für ein puristisches Premiumdesign, sondern auch für eine deutlich verbesserte Funktionalität.

In einem ersten Schritt haben wir in einer Marktanalyse das Verbraucherverhalten in China ganz genau betrachtet. Als eine große Herausforderung für ein Design, das sich auch in Wohnräume einfügt, stellte sich die Belüftung heraus. Man kennt das Problem auch aus Deutschland: Um Schimmelbildung zu vermeiden, muss die Ladeklappe der Maschine im Ruhezustand offenbleiben. Kein schöner Anblick, auch nicht in Mitteleuropa, wo die Luftfeuchtigkeit in der Regel gar nicht so hoch ist, wie zwischen Pazifik und Jangtse.
Außerdem war uns wichtig, dass die Gestaltung möglichst puristisch ist. Nicht nur aus ästhetischen Gründen, auch für die Pflege und Reinigung der Maschine sind möglichst wenig Schalter, Knöpfe und Spalten empfehlenswert. Das Ergebnis unserer Analyse: An einigen Stellen bietet das ansonsten ausgereifte Produkt Optimierungsmöglichkeiten.

Zuerst haben wir uns der Ladeöffnung gewidmet. Diese tritt nach dem Waschvorgang zwei Zentimeter vor und signalisiert so zum einen, dass das Waschen bzw. Trocknen beendet ist. Zum anderen kann durch die daraus entstehende Öffnung bereits der Belüftungsprozess beginnen, ganz ohne den störenden Offene-Türen-Effekt. Um die Bedienelemente zu reduzieren, kommt ein TFT-Display zum Einsatz, das lediglich durch einen Drehknopf und einen An/Aus-Schalter ergänzt wird. Sowohl das Display, als auch die Einfüll- und Reinigungsklappe sitzen extrem bündig in der Front und laufen über die Kurven der Maschine hinweg, sodass ein besonders reduzierter Look entsteht. Abgerundet wird das exklusive, extrusionsartige Erscheinungsbild durch die Verwendung von gebürstetem Edelstahl, sowie einer eleganten durch Spritzguss gefertigten Kunststoffabdeckung. Im Ergebnis hat Panasonic für ein zeitloses Design fast alle Bauteile ersetzt und die Produktion gegenüber seinen Massenprodukten komplett umgestellt. Uns hat das Projekt genau aus diesem Grund begeistert und motiviert: weil wir gemeinsam mit dem Kunden Design auch funktional ganz neu denken konnten.

Name

ALPHA Serie

Fakten

Kunde:
Jahr:
2018

Social Media

Teilen auf

Kontakt

Kontakt aufnehmen